Regaining Energy Momentum after Holidays

This year was particularly stressful and had me away from my family for a long period of time (six months, to be exact). Typically, my holiday season is littered with parties, gatherings, expectations and all of the trappings of a modern family at the holiday season. This typically leaves me feeling utterly exhausted, spent, kaput. And the period then between Christmas and New Years is typically for recovery from Christmas.

However, this year, because my family and I were apart so much, we decided to not go anywhere or have anyone over for the holidays. In brief, we hibernated, which was restful, glorious and much needed.

However, now that I have returned to work from such a significant holiday rest, I find that my momentum has slowed considerably–perhaps to the point of inertia. Now, inertia is deadly to the creative process and can be very difficult to climb out of.  It is far easier to continue something in motion (like a stone rolling down a hill), than it is to put something that is in stillness into motion.

I let myself rest this break, which took some serious time to accomplish and, having accomplished it, I find my momentum is at zero. I reached stillness and now that I have, my job is to engage in the heavy lifting necessary to get my energy back to where it needs to be, in order to be as productive as I know I can be.

How the heck does one accomplish such? I find that if I launch into a large project, like yard work (perhaps something unrelated to my “work”), that my energy will increase and so will my ability to do more work at work. Endorphins kick in, my energy rises (after days of repetition). If I can manage to muster the discipline to repeat for a few days, that typically does the trick.

Don’t have a garden? What is it that you do? How do you get your energy back up?

Momentum is just vital to the creative process. Work begets more work. When we are working, it is far easier to find more work (or for it to find us). But when we are out of work and reach inertia…watch out. That is like climbing out of a deep hole.

I would like to know what you do to get your momentum back up after a place of stillness. How long does it take you to accomplish your prior-to-rest momentum? Do you have any tricks or tips?

What do you do to get your momentum back up?

Jim Hart is the founder of The International Theatre Academy Norway and Austin Conservatory of Professional Arts.

3 thoughts on “Regaining Energy Momentum after Holidays

  1. Excellent article! As an artist, regaining momentum for me is finding inspiration as quickly as possisble. That can come from various sources like seeing great art in musuems, galleries, art books, studios or having conversations with other artists. Seeing and experiencing energy in someone else is contagious and inspirational in itself.

    • Great to hear from you, Vincent. Thanks for your support. I would like to chat with you. What is a good time to reach you? Email me when you get a chance. jim (at) austinconservatory.com

      Hope you are well and thanks again for your support.

      Jim

  2. Great idea about the yard work. I find that I have to sit down with pen and paper and plot my momentum. Some might call this procrastination, but I like to call it carefully strategizing. 😉

Leave a Reply

