I Expected That…Again

Nothing worth having comes easy. How many times have we each heard this in our lives…or some variation thereof?

This is one of the cliches that I have heard so often in my life, that sometimes when I hear it, it ceases to mean anything to me.

Last week, I found myself feeling a pretty blue and overwhelmed. Looking at the shear volume of work I faced and the hyper ambitious agenda that I have set before myself and I asked, “What was I thinking and how am I going to accomplish all of this”? Such thoughts caused me to feel as though I had been hit by an energy bomb. With this self-generated negative thought, I more or less imploded upon myself. “The tasks before me are just so big, so daunting”. And thus, depression began to creep in.

However, then that cliche that Dad sometimes shares with me, found its way into my thoughts. “Nothing worth having comes easy”.

There is, in this thought, an implication that life is a struggle and that if you want something, you are going to have to pay the piper. Want to accomplish something grand? Be prepared to struggle, to expend a lot of energy and emotion. Be prepared to sacrifice.

If we are prepared for and expect struggle, we will not be so overwhelmed when it pays us a visit and knocks at the door.

It certainly will.

Remember that every hero journey is about overcoming obstacles. There is a point in facing and overcoming such obstacles. It leads to something really good.

Keep going. Keep putting one foot in front of the other and you will eventually, walk through the struggle and, hopefully, achieve your goals.

Jim Hart is the founder of The International Theatre Academy Norway and Austin Conservatory of Professional Arts.

Leave a Reply

